Team Drives feature of Google Drive will be renamed to Shared Drives

May 1, 2019

What's changing 

The "Team Drives" feature of Google Drive will be renamed to "shared drives." This will impact: 

  • Drive on web: Sometime after June 3, in Google Drive, in the left hand side panel, “Team Drives” will be renamed to “Shared drives.” Any desktop shortcuts that link to content inside of shared drives will need to be updated.
  • Drive File Stream: Beginning on May 31, 2019, with the Drive File Stream version 31 release, "Team Drives" will be renamed to "shared drives" in the Drive File Stream navigation. This may require you to update settings on your devices. 
  • Mobile: Android users will see this change beginning on May 28, 2019. iOS users will see this change beginning on May 21, 2019.

Why it’s changing 

This change will not impact Team Drives functionality; it is simply a name change. Our users have told us that they use Team Drives for a lot more than sharing within teams, so "shared drives" makes it easier to understand how you could use them.

For more details on the transition refer to this G Suite Updates Blog Post or contact Dr. Gee.