Drive trash changes
September 15, 2020
Starting October 13, 2020, Google Drive trash will behave more consistently with the rest of G Suite services with automatic deletion in 30 days
Any file that is put into Google Drive’s ‘My Drive’ trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
Please note that starting October 13, 2020, any files already in a user’s trash will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day-period files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.
Any file that has been in the trash for longer than 30 days after October 13, 2020, will be automatically deleted.
A few things to note:
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted from Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days.
What do I need to do?
If you are using Google Drive on Android or iOS, please update it to the latest versions.